10 planets of astrology Sun photo

Black Chancery text

small blue Moon glyph


Home Sitemap Book Tour Astrology Astronomy Mythology Order Sample Readings Testimonials About Carl Contact



The 10 Planets of Astrology



medium Sun symbol

medium Moon symbol

medium cross symbol

Every planetary symbol is composed of the circle, the crescent, and the cross. Not all three are present in every planet’s symbol, but at least one is. The circle symbolizes boundless, infinite and eternal spirit without beginning or end, the Ouroboros serpent swallowing its tail. The crescent represents personality and substance: half of the circle, the outer, visible part of being. Just as the Moon is visible only when it reflects the light of the Sun, so, too, does our personality (potentially) reflect the true light within us—our immortal consciousness. The crescent Moon represents everything in life that changes and goes through phases. The cross represents the incarnation of souls on Earth, and the evolutionary struggle to be illuminated by what is within.


Sun glyph, medium

Moon glyph, medium

Mercury glyph, medium

Venus glyph, medium

Mars glyph, medium

Jupiter glyph, medium

Saturn glyph, medium

Uranus glyph, medium

Neptune glyph, medium

Pluto glyph, medium

The Sun









Pluto text graphic


Notice how the circle, crescent and cross are used in the Venus-Mars and Jupiter-Saturn pairs. In Venus the circle of spirit is above the cross of matter, symbolizing the spirit overcoming matter through love. In Mars' old symbol above the circle of spirit was held down by the cross of matter, symbolizing the subjugation of the spirit to matter. In Mars' new more familiar circle with an arrow, our animal energy can be raised or transformed upward under the direction of the spirit. In the planet of expansion's (Jupiter's) symbol, the crescent of personality is buoyed up by the cross of matter. And in the planet of contraction's (Saturn's) symbol, the crescent of personality is held down by the cross of matter.

Neptune's glyph is the cross of matter piercing the crescent of personality to set it free via the sacrifice of the personality through service to that which is larger than the separate/separated self. Mercury, Uranus and Pluto use all three symbols: the circle of spirit, the crescent of personality and the cross of matter. See if you can figure out why their symbols are configured the way they are. Click on each planet's name above to go to that planet.

Table of 10 astrology planets

The table above from page 47 in You and the Universe lists each planet's symbol, a description of its energy, the body part it rules, its rulership, detriment, exaltation and fall (see glossary). In the Fine Art Book, text common to everyone is in black; astrological interpretations specific to you are in blue.  Color-coding in your book is as follows:

Sun, Leo, fifth house, opposition, square, semisquare, sesquiquadrate
Moon, Cancer, fourth house, Nodes
Mercury, Gemini, and the third house
Venus, Libra, and the seventh house
Mars, Aries, the first house, the Ascendant
Jupiter, Sagittarius, ninth house, conjunct
Saturn, Capricorn, Taurus, Virgo, 2nd, 6th & 10th houses,  MC
Uranus, Aquarius and the eleventh house
Neptune, Pisces, twelfth house, trine, sextile
Pluto, Scorpio, 8th house, quincunx, semisextile (black, red border)




Home Sitemap Book Tour Astrology Astronomy Mythology Order Sample Readings Testimonials About Carl Contact






astrology book deluxe wraparound cover

The personalized Fine Art Book You and the Universe.












© Carl Woebcke: Ten Planets of Astrology Book, 1991-2017. All rights reserved.