small Sun photo

Black Chancery text

small blue Moon glyph


Sitemap Book Tour Astrology Astronomy Mythology Order Sample Readings Testimonials About Carl




Glossary Header Letter F



A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I-L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U-W  X-Z


fall: said of a planet in the sign opposite to its exaltation; the weakest and least favorable placement for a planet, resulting in a restriction of its nature and an inability to express its positive or optimistic qualities. This is significant on an individual level only for Moon in Scorpio, Mercury in Leo, Venus in Virgo, Mars in Cancer; and, to a lesser extent, Jupiter in Capricorn and Saturn in Aries.

feminine (yin): receptive water or earth qualities or signs. Taurus, Cancer, Virgo, Scorpio, Capricorn and Pisces are the feminine, yin signs.

finger of fate: see "finger of God" below.

finger of God ("yod"): A triangular aspect structure: a planet at the apex of a triangle quincunx to two other planets in sextile. The whole structure points to the planet at the apex: a special task in life beneficial to one’s evolution; thought to be a fateful, constant, and relatively unchanging condition.

fire: one of the four elements (earth, air, fire and water) by which the signs and houses are categorized. The element of fire represents energy, enthusiasm, inspiration, and the spirit. For its application in the signs and houses, see below. The physical equivalent of the astrological element fire is plasma, a gas that has lost some or all of its electrons by being heated or electrically excited. Stars are composed of plasma. The four states of matter (solid, liquid, gas, plasma) differ only in the relative degree at which their constituent atoms vibrate (see plasma for an explanation of temperature, absolute zero and the four states of matter).

fire house: the first, fifth, and ninth houses; those houses with the ordinal numbers of the three fire signs. Isabel Hickey called the fire houses the "Trinity of Life": the first house being the house of the body, the fifth the house of the soul, and the ninth the house of spirit. These houses partake in the qualities of the fire signs, particularly if their occupants are trined or all linked in a grand trine.

fire sign: The element symbolizing inspiration, energy, enthusiasm, being forceful, impulsiveness, and joie de vivre, as exemplified by the fire signs Aries, Leo and Sagittarius.

fixed (sign): the second or middle sign of a season, denoting will, power, stability and stubborn or inflexible energy: Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius. Planets in different fixed signs are often square or opposed, and thus inharmoniously related.

Furies: (see Erinyes)




Sitemap Book Tour Astrology Astronomy Mythology Order Sample Readings Testimonials About Carl





astrology book pages 2,3

Pages 2-3 from your astrology reading in a fine art, personalized astrology book: You and the Universe





author+astrology-astronomy instruments

The author, his instruments, poetry, awards, reviews and horoscope charts.





© Carl Woebcke, The Glossary: the letter F, 1991-2017. All rights reserved.